2016 Tacoma Community College Scholarship Winner


Kim Klemme

Our Club is proud to announce that Kimberly Klemme has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Tacoma Community College Scholarship. Kim is a lifelong Tacoma resident and is currently enrolled in TCC’s Logistics Program. Kim, a retired Pierce County Sheriff, became interested in Transportation and Logistics while serving our community as a Deputy Sheriff. Her interest was based on observations she made during her law enforcement career; specifically regarding front porch delivery thefts and what requirements companies have for this delivery method.

The Transportation Club of Tacoma has partnered with Tacoma Community College’s Business and Logistics program since its inception. Many members have and continue to shape the curriculum this program offers by participating on the Business and Logistics Program Advisory Committee. Ron Ashara, Norma Dompier, Gary Gieser, Jeff Jagosh, Jake Nyman, Dean Kidd, Mark MacLeod, Mike Porter, and Eric Wilson are among those who have served in this capacity. TCC’s Program Chair for the Business & Logistics Program, Mary Jane Oberhofer, is a Club member. Tim Flood (President 2014) currently serves on the TCC Foundation Board of Directors.

Our Club values its longstanding relationship with Tacoma Community College. The TCC Scholarship was established to memorialize the Club’s commitment to transportation education in our community. This $1,500 scholarship is offered each year to a qualified, deserving student in TCC’s Business and Logistics Program.