2017 Person Of The Year: Gary Gieser

Gary Gieser

Gary Gieser was honored at the Transportation Club of Tacoma’s January Luncheon as the Person of the Year for his ongoing contribution and dedication to the transportation industry. Gary has been in the industry for 50 years. He is currently the V.P. of Sales and Marketing for MacMillan-Piper.

Gary earned his BS from The Ohio State University and went on to do his masters work in Transportation at The University of Tennessee. He then went into the service as an Officer in The Transportation Corp of the US Army serving in Virginia and Korea. Upon his return to the US, he went to work for Sea-Land Service, Inc. and went back to Asia for five years, working in Vietnam, Hong Kong and Taiwan. When he returned to the US, he spent time in various locations ending up in Dallas, TX as Director of Administration and Director of Customer Service. He also was President of the Transportation Club of Dallas.

Gary left Sea-Land in 1995 and worked for a transportation technology company, Highway Master, for four years. After his wife, Lorrie, presented him with triplet girls, they moved to the PNW to be closer to her large family. He went to work for MacMillan-Piper, Inc. as Vice President, Sales and Marketing, and he has been there for 17 years.

Gary was President of The Transportation Club of Seattle (2004) and Tacoma (2005), the TCT Executive Director (2005-2017) and is presently one of the TCT’s Board of Directors.  While Gary was the Executive Director, the TCT grew to over 550 members; making it the largest of its kind in the nation. He has also been a member of the Tacoma Community College Business Advisory Committee and on the Board of Advisors of the Agricultural Transportation Coalition. Gary and his family attend Faith Covenant Church of Sumner and when he can find time, he does like to garden, play golf, cook and relax with his family.

The 2017 Person of the Year Award goes to Mr. Gary Gieser!




PAST WINNERS – Person of the Year

  • 2016 – Tim Flood
  • 2015 – Greg Unterbrink
  • 2014 – Janice Wasson
  • 2013 – Terry Thomas
  • 2012 – Michael Oliver
  • 2011 – Carla Martin
  • 2010 – Jeff Clark
  • 2009 – Hugh Carr
  • 2008 – David Ottey
  • 2007 – Steve Fullerton
  • 2006 – Gary Gieser
  • 2005 – Dennis Dean
  • 2004 – George Osborne
  • 2003 – Mark MacLeod
  • 2002 – Ross Cook
  • 2001 – Jim Stanaway
  • 2000 – Bob Dewey
  • 1999 – Lee Braach
  • 1998 – Stan Levy
  • 1997 – Anne Muñoz
  • 1995 – Ken Collins
  • 1994 – Rick Bunn
  • 1993 – Patti King
  • 1992 – Lindsey Johnson