Hi Jinks Scholarship Golf Tournament

TCT’s 37th Annual Hi Jinks Golf Tournament

We had a fantastic day at North Shore Golf Course on Wednesday, August 2nd. Blue skies and a light breeze made the day pretty amazing! Thank you to the staff at North Shore! The new owners of the course will be making some terrific changes and updates to the course and club house, so make sure to get your registration in early next year and be a part of this spectacular scholarship tournament!

There were some great sponsors out on the course. Many thanks to Mckinney Trailer Rentals, PetroCard, I’m In Stitches, Golden Services, Tacoma Rainiers, Heartland Payment Systems, Toyota Lift Northwest and MacMillan Piper with the great sno-cone machine! Thanks to all of you for making our scholarship tournament so much fun.

Also, a big round of applause goes to all of our sponsors for the generous donations. Without the support of all of you, we would not be able to give away scholarships to so many deserving students.

Our Beverage Cart Sponsors this year were Heartland Express, Pacific Northwest Equipment, Horizon Freight System, Kidder Mathews, TOTE Maritime Alaska, PCC Logistics and Ports America.

Our Dinner Sponsor (and what a great dinner it was!) this year was Matson. Our Lunch Sponsors (BBQ burgers) were PCC Logistics, Toyota Lift NW and Smart Talent.

Our Tee Box Sponsors were MacMillan Piper, Heartland Payment Systems, NU-Way, Mckinney Trailer Rentals, Lynden Transport, Toyota Lift NW, VETrans, PetroCard, Mercer Distribution and Transport, Moss Adams, Tri Pak, Morgan Corp and Golden Services.

Our University Sponsors were Washington United Terminals, Ports America, Tacoma Trophy, BCT Inc. and RoadOne Intermodal Logistics.

Our Putting Contest Sponsor, once again was I’m In Stitches. Thanks Gerald, for donating those great golf bags to our winners.

Our Community College Sponsors were Specialized Transport & Rigging, Arrow Reload Systems, Jeff & Gail Clark, The Northwest Seaport Alliance, Pacific Northwest Equipment and Maersk.

Our In-Kind Sponsor this year was Linda Dunlap.

Every golfer at this tournament receives a raffle prize and a chance to win one of six other larger prizes. It takes work to get that many prizes donated, so many thanks to Lori Kincannon and Stephanie Ticknor for making this happen.

Thanks to the following companies/people for donating raffle prizes and golfer bag goodies: The Transportation Club of Tacoma, Morgan Corp, Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits, PCC Logistics, Toyota Lift NW, Moss Adams, Mark MacLeod, DHX, PetroCard, Brown & Haley, Rarey Olson, STR, Smart Talent, Mckinney Trailer Rentals, TOTE, Costco, New Valued, Signs Now, Targa, PublicDoman.com, Heartland Express, Medosweet Farms, Golden Services, American Corp. Security, American Fast Freight, PepsiCo and the Port of Tacoma.

Many thanks to American Corporate Security for the great team photos as well as, JT Hochstrasser and Highstreet Advertising, for the candid and the drone pictures. Very cool stuff!!

The awesome banners and signs were made by Copy Wrights Printing. Thank you Mark!

If I missed thanking anyone, please know that we are very grateful to everyone who helped make this tournament such a great success!

Let’s hear it for our golf winners WHOOP WHOOP!!

  • First place team –Bryan Lovely, Dan Gavic, Kurt Geffe and Dale Chase
  • Second place team – Jeff Olwell, Joey Nist, Rick Orvella and Chris Orvella
  • Third place team – Terry Thomas, James Hall, Grant Stewart and Eric Tran
  • Closest to the Pin – Men’s Steve Starr, Women’s Stephanie Ticknor
  • Longest Drive – Men’s Pete Bush, Women’s Nikki Larsen

Many thanks to the volunteers who helped out throughout the day. Your help is much appreciated! Rod Koon, Lori Kincannon, Chelsea Staehler, Stephanie Ticknor, Mark MacLeod, Walter Knight, Mark Curtis, Ken Baune, Rani Bai, Lindsey Gieser, Hailey Gieser, Scott Flintoff, Josh Husby and Jenna Knight.

Congratulations to TCT’s 2017 scholarship winners: Major Ali, Nadira Ali, Bailee Doman, Sam Ebner, Scott Flintoff, Hailey Gieser, Karley Gieser, Lindsey Gieser, Josh Husby, Jennafer Knight, Madeline Miller, Kelci Parker, Hannah Russ, Meagann Russell, Taegan Takayoshi, Megan Tucker and Rebecca Werbowski.

The money raised for the tournament this year will fund our scholarship program for 2018.

Looking forward to seeing everyone again next year!

Best regards,
Janice Wasson
Tournament Chair/TCT Past President 2013
Heartland Express, Vice President Sales West